Navigation Main content Login Search
The libraries are open with limited services

Due to the spread of infection in society, the library has changed service. Read more

Chalmers Open Access Award

Every year in October Chalmers Library awards a person for his/her work on creating open access to Chalmers research output. This page lists the winners.

Award winners 


Erik Agrell is awarded the Chalmers Open Access Award 2020. With a majority of his almost 300 research publications published open access, over a time span of close to 30 years, Erik is with this award recognized as a true Open Access champion at Chalmers University of Technology. 

An interview with the award winner is available at Chalmers web, "Open Access is a matter of democracy and global solidarity".


erik_cath_OA.jpg (2)

In the picture: Erik Agrell (to the left)  receives Chalmers Open Access Award and flowers from Catharina Hiort (to the right).
Photo: Mikael Weiss. 

2018 and 2019

Anneli Kamb and Jörgen Larsson, for the report Klimatpåverkan från svenska befolkningens flygresor 1990 – 2017 (2018). The report was in 2018 downloaded by 900 unique users, and was linked to from e.g Swedish television and the journal Curie. The report was the most downloaded item both 2018 and 2019.  


Sandra Roos for her doctoral thesis Advancing life cycle assessment of textile products to include textile chemicals. Inventory data and toxicity impact assessment which reached most readers during 2017. 


In the picture Sandra Roos (to the right) receives flowers and a diploma from Kristina Graner (to the left).
Photo: Jessica Lindholm


No award handed out.


The 2015 award goes to the authors of the most reached open access publication during 2015. Jan Lennartsson, Nicklas Lidström, Carl Lindberg was awarded the prize for the article Game intelligence in team sports (PLoS ONE. 2015 vol. 10 (5)). 


In the picture Carl Lidberg and Jan Lennarsson, poses outside Chalmers Library with the prize winner flowers.  
Photo: Sofia Andersson